BLOODY LOVE

blo

Thrice disowned by Simon. Once betrayed by Iscariot.
The whip swung with an enormous strength and warp speed in such a stunning manner that before the whistling sound it made hit his ear drum, the flagella had sunk deep into the flesh at his back. Not once, not twice but the roman soldiers counted thirty nine. Each swing coming out of His flesh with a strand of His outer skin. Two lead balls beat His skin to release blood internally with each stroke. The stench of an early morning spit trickling down His face. Blows of enmity straight to his head, coupled with slaps of disgrace igniting a vertigo. The crown of thorns pushed onto His head wasn’t enough that they had to strike it to press it further.
Blood oozing from the skull of the King. A spear through His side and two separate streams of blood and water gushed out. What amount of strength remains; enough for Him to carry our sins- the cross unto calvary? Six inches straight down his wrist and feet. The King of the Jews; My King displayed in disgrace.
King David caught the detailed, de facto description of the Messiah’s Death by revelation as recorded in the 22nd book of psalms “I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of my joint. My heart has turned to wax; it has melted in me. My mouth is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth; you lay me in the dust of death. All my bones are on display; people stare and gloat over me. they divide my clothes among them and cast lots of my for my garment.”
Anytime I read these heinous accounts in addition to even the subtle manuscripts the disciples gave, it overwhelms me. How could the son of man be put through such an unimaginable beastly ordeal? Couldn’t there have been another way? But then I think of the Suffering of Christ Jesus, my salvation dawns on me. Essentially it was me Christ had in mind through all this unto the cross; till the curtain in the temple was torn into two from top to bottom, till the earth shook, till the rocks split and tombs broke open for the holy people who died to be raised to life till Christ gave up His last breath! For me!
What would have kept God the Son steadfast to this; the Father’s will? What only comes in mind is His love for mankind!!! Love painted on a canvas of marble with splashes of blood. Love soaked in by warm dust with streams of sweat. Love which endureth all suffering. That love which makes my shepherd leave behind the ninety nine sheep just to come rescue me; the lost one. In this love I move and have my being. So then if my Christ Jesus is with me and within me, who can be against me? Without Him nothing was made that has been made, All power is within His domain. The power that resurrected Him from the grave has been made available unto me. With Christ in my boat? When I am asleep; I am relaxed in confidence. Nothing in this universe can separate us from the love God has shown through the efficacious blood of Christ that was shed. Beloved grab a glass, get some ice, pour some frozen coke on it and chillax. God’s love is so deep that nothing can overcome you. God loves you.

9 thoughts on “BLOODY LOVE

  1. Barimah Yaw says:

    Hmmmm.. The love of Christ on the cross for me always gets me thinking deep; as u said couldn’t there had been a way for Him to show this bloody love buh it also tells me that if Christ could show this heavy love to a sinner like me Barimah then am not in this world for granted. His reason for such love must manifest itself in ma life Sarpong.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

